The Masterpiece: ‘Delight’ by Baekhyun

Vidhi Gosain, New Delhi

EXO‘s main vocalist, Byun Baek-hyun, has proven time and again that he has a diverse vocal range that fits any and every genre, and his 2nd mini album, ‘Delight’ is no exception. ‘Delight’ broke the record by becoming a million seller by a soloist after 19 years. There is no doubt in saying that Baekhyun is one of the most talented singers in the industry, justifying his title of the ‘genius idol.’ ‘Delight’ is an absolute delight to listen to with beautiful songs that match the singer’s heavenly voice! Each song in the mini album has a totally different feel and evokes different emotions inside its listeners. The playful ‘Candy’ mixed with the R&B vibes of ‘R U Riding?’, ‘Bungee’, the melancholic ‘Underwater’, the slow bops ‘Ghost’ and ‘Popping’, topped with the heartwarming ‘Love Again’, makes the perfect recipe for a million-seller album. So we, at Hallyuism, have reviewed every song for you and we can promise that you will be hooked to this amazing album just as we are!


Trust me when I say that no other song could have been better than this to start the album! Candy is the perfect summer song with its upbeat vibes; topped with catchy lyrics and dance movements. This song gets you on your feet and compels you to groove. There is no doubt that this is the perfect song to play while chilling on the beach or when having a dance party. Candy is the epitome of happiness and happy music. Candy also compliments Baekhyun’s happy-go-lucky vibes and his classic boyish charms. This song has everyone feeling like ‘pop rock, strawberry, bubblegum’

Video Credits: SMTOWN

2. R U RIDIN’?

The very first “Woah” is enough to capture the hearts and souls of the listeners! Baekhyun’s vocals have never let his fans down and the whole song is a verdict of the fact. The R&B track reveals a more mature side of the playful singer and we are all down for it. The song adds a touch of maturity to the album and takes the listeners on a magical ride which compliments the song title quite well.

Video Credits: BAEKHYUN


Sticking to the R&B theme set by the previous song, ‘Bungee’ too shows a more mature side of the boyish charmed Baekhyun. The song is backed up by the singer’s beautiful vocals, making it difficult to find any flaw in this already beautifully put-together song. The song plays with the metaphor of falling in love as if falling in the sea and swimming to one’s heart’s content. Be it an adlib, a little high note, or just Baekhyun singing, this song gives you goosebumps.

Video Credits: BAEKHYUN


This song makes the listeners feel the pain of losing their significant other and the sorrow that follows. The lyrics that go, ‘I lost my direction, I’m locked up at night, I don’t know where to go, I’m underwater’ make you want to cry your eyes out. To add to it all, Baekhyun’s voice sets the perfect tone for this emotional song. The song is filled with an array of emotions and honestly, it is the most beautiful experience.

Video Credits: BAEKHYUN


Baekhyun’s vocals in this urban R&B hip-hop song have added to the list of things he has perfected. The upbeat happy song talks about falling in love and the outburst of happiness that follows suit. The song is set to lift anyone’s mood because of the upbeat tempo of the song. Poppin’ is, just like the name suggests, will make you want to pop up from your seats and bust out some moves!

Video Credits: BAEKHYUN


Ghost takes a full 180 degree turn from the happiness set by Poppin’. Although it follows the same trend of upbeat music, it is the lyrics, pain, and anger in Baekhyun’s voice that make the song hit the hearts of its listeners. The song compares the lover/significant other to a ghost and constantly revolves around separation and the need for them. The emotional lyrics are beautifully hidden behind the happy background music, making this song a one-of-a-kind gem.

Video Credits: GHOST



There couldn’t be a better song to end the album than ‘Love Again.’ This is the closest to a ballad we can get from Baekhyun in this album. The song talks about the ever-longing need to love one’s partner even after the end. Although the song is set to be after a breakup, it still hits too close to home for all of us hopeless romantics. Baekhyun’s voice just adds an extra ‘oomph’ to the already heartwarming lyrics.

In just under 30 minutes the album serves its listeners with a platter of emotions. Starting from a happy-go-lucky song that can easily be the best party song and ending with the soul-wrenching post-breakup song, this album is bewitching. ‘Delight’ has something for everyone and would leave all its listeners satisfied. The album is a story that is waiting to be heard and experienced!

Have you heard the album yet? Which is your favorite song from the album? Let us know in the comment section below!

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Tirna says:

    The performances of Exo are entertaining and pleasing to the eye, Baekhyun has a beautiful voice. The article is informative.

  2. Deepshikha Sinha says:

    “Love again” and “underwater” are just so good~ 😍😍

  3. unnati bilwal says:

    I really love CANDY like Beakhyun just rocked all of the songs from this album😭😭 this album is really a masterpiece. And a very well produced album with Baekhyun’s magical voice all over in it. I really recommend everyone to listen to the full album. I am sure you guys will love it. 😭❤️

  4. Oishi Das says:

    Indeed a masterpiece 💥🌟

  5. Suhasini says:

    Surely a masterpiece✨💙

    1. Miso says:

      Indeed, one of the adorable idols in my list 🥺🥺🥺

  6. mondalmoumita031 says:

    All are my fvrt but candy song hits different always ❤🍭

  7. Baekhyun serving us such masterpieces with every album😍🤌🔥

    1. Mamoni says:

      I really love all of the songs from the album but CANDY is 😍😍

  8. Sonali Singh says:

    Thank you for introducing these beautiful songs

  9. Yes I love Baekhyun’s music and this album is one of my favourites because of the story it tells with each song. My absolute favourites from this album would be Candy and Love again. I can start dancing anywhere if I hear Candy playing, it has those vibes 😁💟

  10. ThatMoleGirl says:

    I love this album …Baekhyun is love… I really like dancing to the song Candy.

  11. Anonymous says:

    I love his voice ❣️

  12. Delight is Baekhyun at his full musical potential. He delivered and showed his maturity as an idol and artist, perfecting every single element on this album.

  13. Harshita Gupta says:

    Living for his honey like vocals 🍯🔥

  14. Baekhyun never fails to amaze me! Love again and Candy is my most fav tracks from this album! Can’t wait for my 사랑하는 백현 to come back from military

  15. anishanath says:

    I haven’t listened to the full album yet, on the way to complete listening the whole album but I would like to appreciate how all the songs are so well described in this article. The album is amazing as well as this article.

  16. chandrasep11 says:

    candy candy…i love all of his songs

Leave a Reply